historic courthouse

How a DUI Can Become a Felony in Florida

How a DUI Can Become a Felony in Florida

Posted By Boswell & Dunlap LLP || 29-Aug-2016

The state of Florida takes driving under the influence cases (DUI) seriously. In fact, according to the Florida Department of Motorized Vehicle’s records, in 2011, there were 33,625 misdemeanor and felony DUI convictions. Although both can carry heavy fines and other serious penalties, felony DUI offenses remain on a person’s record for life and often include lengthier prison sentences, larger fines, and more extensive consequences.

Of course, because different DUI offenses carry different penalties, many wonder, “How does a DUI become a felony in Florida?” The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles states there are several ways in which a person can be convicted of a felony DUI, which have been listed below:

  • An individual who is convicted of a third DUI within 10 years or a fourth or subsequent DUI commits a Third Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to five years imprisonment and fines up to $5,000.00
  • An individual who causes severe bodily injury while driving while impaired is guilty of a Third Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to five years imprisonment and fines up to $5,000.00
  • An individual who is convicted of DUI/Manslaughter is guilty of a Second Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to 15 years imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.00
  • An individual who is convicted of DUI Manslaughter/Leaving the Scene is guilty of a First Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to 30 years imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.00
  • An individual who is convicted of Vehicular Homicide is guilty of a Second Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to 15 years imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.00.
  • An individual who is convicted of Vehicular Homicide/Leaving the Scene is guilty of a First Degree Felony. Penalties for this conviction may include: up to 30 years imprisonment and fines up to $10,000.00

Have You Been Arrested for DUI? Contact Boswell & Dunlap LLP Today.

If you have been accused of driving under the influence, it is urgent that you contact experienced legal representation as soon as possible. At Boswell & Dunlap LLP, our Polk County DUI defense lawyers are ready to protect the rights and futures of the accused. Because we know how these types of convictions can affect a person’s future, we work diligently to handle these cases as quickly and efficiently.

Don’t wait to retain the legal counsel you need. Your freedom may be at stake. Call a Polk County DUI defense attorney from our team today. We have been defending the accused since 1900.

Categories: Criminal Defense

Do You Have a Legal Problem? We Can Help.

Fill out the form below and a representative from our firm will be in touch shortly.

Submit